Posts Tagged TN DUI Laws

What Is An Ignition Interlock Device?

Tennessee law requires the use of an Ignition Interlock Device (“IID”) for most motorists upon conviction of Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”).  The requirement of an IID generates many questions for TN motorists.  Primary among the questions is: What is an Ignition Interlock Device?

Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security High Patrol Division Rule 1340-03-06-.02 defines an Ignition Interlock Device as “a device that is designed to allow a driver to start a vehicle if the driver’s [Breath Alcohol Concentration (“BrAC”)] is below the set point and to prevent the driver from starting the vehicle if the driver’s BrAC is at or above the set point.”  

An IID is essentially a breath alcohol test device that requires a driver to register a breath test sample not only prior to starting the vehicle, but also periodically while operating the vehicle, to verify that the driver’s breath alcohol concentration remains below a preset level.  Tennessee law requires Ignition Interlock Devices be calibrated to a setting of .02%.  Accordingly, should the driver register at or above .02%, the IID will prevent the vehicle from being started. 

In the coming weeks, this blog will address additional questions surrounding the Tennessee IID requirements, including, but not limited to: When is an IID required? Is an IID mandated even when a DUI conviction does not involve alcohol? What procedures must be met to have an IID removed from a motorists’ vehicle? What are the consequences an Ignition Interlock Device violation?

In the meantime, should you have any questions relating to a Tennessee DUI arrest, the lawyers at Oberman & Rice are available to speak with you at (865) 249-7200.

, , , ,

No Comments

As of July 1, 2010, a DUI Conviction Costs You More

Among the new and updated DUI/DWI-related laws generated from the Tennessee 106th General Assembly (2010) is the requirement that each person convicted of a TN DUI charge be taxed a $40.00 Ignition Interlock Device (IID) fee.  The purpose of the fee is to fund the Ignition Interlock Fund, which is being created to pay for installation and maintenance of the ignition interlock device for indigent defendants in certain circumstances.  The $40.00 IID fee is the second court cost increase for Tennessee DUI convictions to be mandated by the Tennessee Legislature this past year.  See my June 20, 2010 post, Where Does the Chemical Test Fee Go?, for information on the other fee increase.

In the coming weeks Tennessee DUI Center will continue to provide information on the new and/or updated Tennessee DUI/DWI laws.  Please check back each week for a new highlighted law.  In the meantime, if you have any questions about Tennessee DUI laws or DUI/DWI-related matters, feel free to contact Steve or Sara at 865-249-7200 or visit us online at either or

, ,

No Comments